Tag Archives: milito

Argentina’s 23 man squad

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero, Mariano Andújar, Diego Pozo

Defenders: Nicolas Otamendi, Gabriel Heinze, Nicolas Burdisso, Walter Samuel, Ariel Garce, Clemente Rodríguez, Martin Demichelis

Midfielders: Juan Sebastian Verón, Javier Mascherano, Jonas Gutierrez, Angel Dí María, Maxi Rodriguez, Javier Pastore, Mario Bolatti

Forwards: Diego Milito, Lionel Messi, Gonzalo Higuaín, Carlos Tevez, Sergio Agüero, Martín Palermo


Argentina’s Provisional Squad Announced

Argentina’s coach Diego Maradona has shocked the world with his latest squad announcement. The former World Player of the Year has decided against bringing Champions League finalists Esteban Cambiasso, Javier Zanetti as well as Lucho Gonzalez of Olympique de Marseille, Gabriel Milito of Barcelona and Fernando Gago of Real Madrid.

Maradona has not included the Internazionale duo in any of his selections prior to the provisional squad announcement yesterday, but it was hoped that their impeccable club form would be good enough for them to command a place in the final squad.

Newcastle United’s Fabricio Coloccini and Jonas Gutierrez were both selected by Maradona, despite not playing in any of Europe’s marquee leagues this past season.

Argentina’s domestic league is surprisingly well represented in the squad, with ten players making the preliminary squad.

The controversy is set to continue. Internazionale striker Diego Milito is rumoured to be sure of missing the cut for the final squad in favour of 36 year old, Martín Palermo.

Goalkeepers Sergio Romero (AZ Alkmaar), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Diego Pozo (Colon)

Defenders Nicolas Otamendi (Velez Sarsfield), Martin Demichelis (Bayern München), Walter Samuel (Internazionale), Gabriel Heinze (Marseille), Nicolas Burdisso (AS Roma), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle United), Ariel Garce (Colon), Juan Insaurralde (Newell’s Old Boys), Clemente Rodriguez (Estudiantes)

Midfielders Jonas Gutierrez (Newcastle United), Juan Sebastien Verón (Estudiantes), Jose Sosa (Estudiantes), Javier Mascherano (Liverpool), Ángel Di María (Benfica), Javier Pastore (Palermo), Sebastian Blanco (Lanus), Maxi Rodriguez (Liverpool), Juan Mercier (Argentinos), Jesús Datolo (Olympiakos), Mario Bolatti (Fiorentina)

Forwards Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuaín (Real Madrid), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Diego Milito (Internazionale), Sergio Agüero (Atlético Madrid), Martín Palermo (Boca Juniors), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Napoli)